RSS

Not About Money – It’s About People

04 Oct

Do you remember why and/or when you were introduced to Network Marketing, and when you joined your very first company?  Was it a good experience?  Was it a bad experience? Think about the answers and what created those answers, then read on.

My experience and exposure was back in the mid-1970s.  My reasons were the same as most people that get into this business. I needed to make extra money, but didn’t want to work the 9-5. I wanted to work flexible hours, be home with the kids, attend their activities, take holidays when we wanted, and be available to volunteer for our local fire department, in other words I wanted FREEDOM.

I saw a newspaper ad: “Make $5000.00/month returning phone calls.” I love talking on the phone. $5000.00 a month was great. It sounded easy. That is the day my network marketing began.

But guess what? It wasn’t that easy. Network Marketing is like farming. You have to seed before you harvest. It takes time for that seed to grow. But with cultivation, care, rain, and sunshine there will be a harvest.

I joined several companies, spent a lot of money on leads and advertising.  I struggled for a year. I didn’t know how to train people who joined me. I didn’t know how to mentor, motivate or lead a team.

After many years I learned how to evaluate a company, how to be a critical thinker, how to generate my own leads for free, how to call leads, how and where to advertise, personal development, how to identify my prospects by personality.

Best of all, I finally found an upline person who said “he’d believe in me until I believed in myself”; it gave me hope that I could be successful. This was several companies, later in life and I finally was able to get on a winning team and learn and cultivate what I needed to do to be successful.

To have the harvest I want in MLM, I needed to get the weeds out of my mind. That negativity and low self-esteem had to go. I learned to paint new pictures in my mind, of who I wanted to be, and what success looks like to me. Now I speak my future into reality. It takes focus and persistence and faith. You have to believe it before you can see it. I know that if you plant corn, you will harvest corn. And if you plant good seeds in your mind by reading good books and getting together with like-minded positive people, then you will reap a great harvest.

Network Marketing is not about the money – it’s about people. Build people and then the people will build the business. Even if we would never make any money in this business, we’re growing and becoming the people we were meant to be, and we’re helping others grow into leaders.

Robert H. “Bob” Wieters, ID#1033
Triple Diamond & Founder, RYL

 

Leave a Reply

 
